Eurocup Basketball Awards – First and Second Team members announced

Eurocup Basketball Awards – First and Second Team members announced

As the 2013-14 Eurocup basketball season draws to a close this week, with the final matches taking place in the first week of May, Euroleague Basketball has honoured 10 stars of the Eurocup basketball courts. As it does every year, the Euroleague Basketball organisation announced the members of the All-Eurocup First and Second teams last week. The teams are made up of those players which have played to their full potential all season and led their respective teams throughout the season.

Eurocup basketball is the second-tier competition which takes place across the European continent. It is one tier below the Euroleague level. Followers of the Eurocup can check out the odds for upcoming matches on Betfair, the world’s biggest betting exchange.

Many of the All-Eurocup First and Second teams are familiar names, who have made the selection in previous years. There’s one new face on the First Team though – guard Andrew Goudelock of Unics Kazan joins fellow guard DeMarcus Nelson of Crvena Zvezda Telekom Belgrade. The other team members include forwards Dijon Thomspons of Nizhny Novgorod, Justin Doellman of Valancia Basket Club and center Vladimir Golubovic of Ayknon TED Ankara Kolejliler.

The All- Eurocup Second Team includes guards Yotam Halperin of Hapoel Migdal Jerusalem and Reggie Redding of Alba Berlin – another rookie to the All-Eurocup team. The rest of the team are forwards Darjus Lavrinovic of Budivelnik Kiev and Caleb Green of Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari and finally center Bojan Dubljevic of Valencia Basket Club.

Still to be announced is the player who will be crowned 2013-14 Eurocup MVP. To be the Eurocup MVP is to reach the pinnacle of the awards structure that recognises the finest contributions by Eurocup players throughout the season.

The finals take places in two rounds on 1 May and 7 May, with Valencia Basket Club vs Unics Kazan, in a home and away format. The winning team will become the 2013-14 Eurocup Champion and in so doing, earns the right to play in the 2014-15 Turkish Airlines Euroleague.