2/17 Baseball Bracketology Breakdown

North Carolina State College Baseball, Carlos Rodon

Last Eight In: Michigan State, Gonzaga, Nebraska, Pepperdine, Auburn, Arizona, Citadel, Alabama

First Eight Out: Fresno State, Georgia Tech, Washington State, Baylor, UC Irvine, Houston, New Mexico, Loyola Marymount

Opening Day was a battle against the weather for a lot of college baseball programs.  Wintery conditions prevented teams from traveling to their scheduled games and caused a lot of teams to scramble to find new opponents to play.  The 8 team, USA Baseball Complex Classic hosted by Wright State was cancelled as teams were unable to get to North Carolina, NC State was unable to travel to their scheduled game in California due to cancelled flights and North Carolina had to move their scheduled game home series with the College of Charleston to South Carolina, just to name a few.  In response to the cancellations, teams scheduled a number of new matchups that put some talented teams against each other.  NC State stayed at home and took on Canisius, who was scheduled to take part in the Wright State tournament, and Western Carolina travelled to Mississippi State to play a series after both of their Opening Day opponents cancelled.  Those turned out to be two of the best series of the weekend.  Canisius stunned the Wolfpack and star pitcher Carlos Rodon, winning 3-0 on Sunday, and Western Carolina took game one of their series against the national runner-up from last year.  Those matchups, and others had a big impact on this week’s bracketology.  Western Carolina, for example, has climbed into this week’s bracket after their impressive performance against Mississippi State.  It was a frantic weekend for a lot of programs, but a lot of great baseball was played.


See the Projected Baseball NCAA Tournament Bracket


ACC: Clemson, Florida State, Miami, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia

American: Louisville

Big East: Creighton

Big 12: Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas

Big Ten: Indiana, Michigan State, Nebraska

Pac-12: Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA

SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt

A-10: Saint Louis

America East: Maine

A-Sun: Mercer

Big South: Coastal Carolina

Big West: Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, UCSB

CAA: North Carolina-Wilmington

C-USA: East Carolina, Florida Atlantic, Rice

Horizon: Milwaukee

Ivy: Dartmouth

MAAC: Canisius

MAC: Kent State

MEAC: Delaware State

MVC: Wichita State

MWC: San Diego State

NEC: Bryant

OVC: Belmont

Patriot: Holy Cross

Southern: Citadel, Western Carolina

Southland: Sam Houston State

Summit: North Dakota State

Sun Belt: Louisiana

SWAC: Alabama State

WAC: Sacramento State

WCC: Gonzaga, Pepperdine, San Diego


See the Projected Baseball NCAA Tournament Bracket