Notre Dame Softball 2022 NCAA Tournament Capsule


Notre Dame Fighting Irish

ACC (39-10, 16-5)

Coach: Deanna Gumpf
Key Field Players:
Karina Gaskins, Sophomore, IF, .434 BA, 13 HR, 59 RBI
Abby Sweet, Senior, OF, .373 BA, 6 HR, 25 RBI, 19 SB
Leea Hanks, Junior, OF, .366 BA, 5 HR, 30 RBI
Emma Clark, Senior, OF, .360 BA, 21 RBI
Key Pitchers:
Payton Tidd, Senior, P, 2.51 ERA, 15-4 W/L, 9 CG, 128.1 IP, 96 SO
Alexis Holloway, Senior, P, 2.99 ERA, 14-3 W/L, 7 CG, 114.2 IP, 93 SO
Shannon Becker, Freshman, P, 1.63 ERA, 10-3 W/L, 6 CG, 81.2 IP, 70 SO
By the Numbers:
Batting Average: .332 (8th in nation, 2nd in conference)
Double Plays per Game: 0.25 (156, 10)
Doubles per Game: 1.85 (2, 1)
Earned Run Average: 2.36 (33, 5)
Fielding Percentage: .967 (71, 7)
Home Runs per Game: 0.92 (67, 7)
Scoring Offense: 6.48 (12, 2)
Slugging Percentage: .519 (24, 3)
Stolen Bases per Game: 1.48 (52, 3)
Triples per Game: 0.29 (17, 3)
Recent Postseason Appearances:
2021Regionaldefeated Miami (OH), defeated Kentucky, lost to Kentucky, eliminated by Kentucky
2019Regionallost to Wisconsin, defeated UMBC, eliminated by Wisconsin
2018Regionaldefeated Michigan, lost to Kentucky, defeated Michigan, eliminated by Kentucky
2017Regionallost to California, defeated East Tennessee State, eliminated by California
2016Regionallost to Miami (OH), defeated Valparaiso, defeated Miami (OH), eliminated by Michigan
2015Regionallost to Ball State, defeated Northwestern, defeated Ball State, eliminated by Kentucky
2014Regionaldefeated Long Beach State, lost to UCLA, defeated Long Beach State, eliminated by UCLA
2013Regionallost to Virginia Tech, eliminated by Marshall
2011Regionallost to Kentucky, defeated Western Michigan, eliminated by Michigan
2010Regionaldefeated Illinois State, lost to Michigan, defeated Wright State, eliminated by Michigan
2009Regionaldefeated Cleveland State, lost to Michigan, defeated Miami (OH), eliminated by Michigan
2008Regionaldefeated Kent State, lost to Michigan, eliminated by Kent State
2007Regionallost to Illinois State, defeated Wright State, eliminated by Illinois State
*all team stats through 5/8