Ranking the 10 Greatest Players in NBA History


Ranking the 10 Greatest Players in NBA History


The NBA has a great history that goes back almost 70 years. Over this period, it has treated the sports world to spectacular players and organizations. In its rich history, we’ve witnessed some of the greatest NBA players come and go. In this article, we look at 10 of the greatest players in the NBA’s history. We’ll use statistics, team achievements and individual honors to rank the players.

10.  Hakeem Olajuwon

Hakeem is considered as the most skillful big player the NBA has seen. Many admired his dominance on the inside, and other team’s defenses dreaded his trademark “dream shake” move. He was so distinguished that other superstars like LeBron James and Dwight Howard have worked on their game skills-based under his guidance. 

His accolades include two NBA titles, two finals MVPs, and one regular season MVP. He also led a marginally-talented squad to successive NBA championships. He also remains the only NBA player to win regular season MVP, Finals MVP and Defensive Player of the year in the same season in 1994. 

9. Shaquille O’Neal 

Shaquille O’Neal is arguably the most dominant player of all time. He will be remembered for how he brutalized defenders with monster power.    

In the early 2000s, he won three successive NBA championships with the LA Lakers. In the same period, he also took home three Finals MVPs. He was also the 2000 regular season MVP. In his illustrious career, he appeared in 14 ALL-NBA Teams. 

8. Tim Duncan

One of the greatest strengths of Tim Duncan was his consistency. He won four NBA championships with the San Antonio Spurs, winning three Finals MVPs in the process. He has won four out of five finals after tasting the first finals defeat to Miami Heat. He has also won two regular season MVPs. His career lasted from 1997-2016. 

7. Larry Bird

 Larry Bird’s career lasted between 1979 and 1992, during which he played for Boston Celtics. Bird and Magic Johnson rekindled the Celtics-Lakers competition. Bird marshaled Celtics to five NBA Finals and three championships. His shots, passing, and reading of the game were his strong points. 

He won the league MVP three times. He was the best small forward until the arrival of LeBron James. 

6. Wilt Chamberlain

Wilt’s stats are out of this world. During his time, he dominated games and scored points that are becoming a fairy-tale with time. He scored an NBA record 100 points in one game and had an average score of 50 points per game for the whole season. He only won two championships barring him from ranking higher. 

5. Magic Johnson

Magic Johnson began his career on a high and kept soaring. He won Finals MVP when he substituted injured Kareem Abdul-Jabbar in the 1980 finals. He led the LA Lakers to nine finals during his career. He managed three finals MVPs, three regular season MVPs, and five NBA titles. He also got 10 ALL-NBA selections. 

4. Bill Russell 

Bill Russell is regarded as the best defender in the NBA’s history. During his career between 1956 and 1969, he led Celtics to 11 NBA titles. Bill is renowned for dominating the game defensively. He holds a record 11 NBA championships and five regular season MVPs. 

3. Kareem Abdul –Jabbar

 Kareem will also be remembered for his consistency. He maintained great averages in a span of 20 seasons. Among his honors is the all-time leading scorer in the history of the NBA, he also has the most regular-season MVP medals (six). Kareem featured in 11 All-Defense selections and 19 All-star appearances. 

In his illustrious career, he also won six NBA titles and two finals MVPs.

2. LeBron James

LeBron James started at Cleveland Cavaliers, through Miami heat to LA Lakers. His biggest asset is his passing ability. He has won four MVPs and three championships. As he is popularly known, King James has changed the narrative of how an athlete’s prime should be analyzed.

1. Michael Jordan

Michael Jordan is the undisputed NBA greatest player of all time. MJ achieved everything a player would want to accomplish in the game. In his illustrious career with Chicago Bulls, he got selected 11times to ALL-NBA team. He also made it to nine All-Defensive First teams. 

His honors include six NBA titles, six Finals MVPs, and five regular season MVPs. His most significant performance came in the 1988 season, where he swept the MVP, Defensive Player of the Year as well as NBA’s scoring title. As things stand, Michael Jordan is still NBA’s MVP, at least for now.