#35 Nebraska Baseball 2018 Preview

Nebraska Cornhuskers
Overall Rank: #35
Conference Rank: #1 Big Ten
Nebraska Logo
Nebraska reached their third NCAA Tournament in the last four years under Coach Darin Erstad. The Cornhuskers won the Big Ten regular season title, but failed to win a game in the NCAA Tournament, losing to Yale and Holy Cross. Jake Hohensee will be the ace of the staff after going 7-3 with a 4.39 ERA in 14 starts last year. Matt Waldron and Ethan Frazier also have some starting experience and will look to help replace Jake Meyers and Derek Burkamper. The bullpen will again be led by Luis Alvardo and Chad Luensmann. Those two combined for 18 saves last year and the Cornhuskers will be tough to beat if they can get into the late innings with a lead.
2017: 35-22-1, 16-7-1
2017 Postseason: NCAA
Coach: Darin Erstad
Key Departed Players:
Ben Miller, 1B, .306 BA, 3 HR, 39 RBI
Jake Meyers, P/OF, .297 BA, 1 HR, 16 RBI, 20 SB, 3.42 ERA, 84.1 IP, 57 SO
Jake Schleppenbach, IF, .292 BA, 5 HR, 34 RBI
Derek Burkamper, P, 3.53 ERA, 71.1 IP, 49 SO
Key Returning Players:
Scott Schreiber, OF, .330 BA, 7 HR, 51 RBI
Angelo Altavilla, IF, .316 BA, 1 HR, 39 RBI
Luis Alvarado, OF, .283 BA, 2 HR, 25 RBI
Mojo Hagge, OF, .277 BA, 1 HR, 27 RBI
Jake Hohensee, P, 4.39 ERA, 80.0 IP, 57 SO
Matt Waldron, P, 4.09 ERA, 55.0 IP, 43 SO
All-Big Ten honorees Scott Schreiber and Angelo Altavilla are back to lead the Nebraska offense. Schreiber led the team with a .330 batting average with seven homeruns and 51 RBIs. Altavilla does not have the same amount of power when it comes to going yard, but the junior did tally 14 doubles. He can certainly drive in runs, even without hitting many homeruns. Luis Alvarado, Mojo Hagge and Jesse Wilkening were regular starters last year as well and bring plenty of experience to the plate. This should again be a well-balanced team that can win games in a variety of ways. As long as the pitching staff can remain among the best in the Big Ten, the Cornhuskers will win another Big Ten title.
Projected Postseason: NCAA Baseball Tournament