5/13 Softball Bracketology Breakdown

Last Four in: Texas, Boston College, Louisville, Oregon State
First Four Out: Central Michigan, Michigan State, Cal Poly, SIUE
Michigan State sent shockwaves through the college softball world on Friday as the Spartans knocked out host Michigan 5-4 to advance to the Big Ten Conference Tournament Semifinals. The win for Michigan State kept them in the bubble conversation as they will be able to add to their NCAA Tournament resume again on Saturday when they will play Ohio State. Washington and Oregon have all but locked up top eight seeds as the Huskies picked up a series win in Salt Lake City over Utah after beating the Utes 4-2 in extra innings on Friday. For the Ducks, they took care of business against Stanford on Friday with an 8-0 win over the Cardinal. San Jose State punched it’s to the NCAA Tournament as the Spartans are the Mountain West Conference Champions after San Diego State lost to Nevada on Friday 5-4. This is the first softball conference championship for San Jose State since joining the Mountain West in 2014. Montana has shaken things up in the Big Sky Conference Tournament. The Grizzlies knocked off host Weber State 2-1 in 10 innings thanks to a homerun by Sydney Stites. If Montana can finish things off on Saturday, it will be one of the more impressive stories in college softball since the Grizzlies are only in their third season as a program.
ACC: Boston College, Florida State, Louisville, North Carolina, Notre Dame
American:  Tulsa
Big East: St. John’s
Big 12: Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas
Big Ten: Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Wisconsin
Pac-12: Arizona*, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, UCLA, Utah, Washington
SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M
A-10: Fordham
America East: Maine
A-Sun: USC Upstate
Big Sky: Montana
Big South: Liberty
Big West: Cal State Fullerton*
CAA: James Madison*
C-USA: Marshall, Florida International
Horizon: Illinois-Chicago
Ivy: Princeton*
MAAC: Monmouth
MAC: Ohio
MEAC: Florida A&M
MVC: Northern Iowa
MWC: San Jose State*
NEC: St. Francis
OVC: Jacksonville State
Patriot: Lehigh
Southern: East Tennessee State
Southland: McNeese State*
Summit: IUPUI
Sun Belt: Louisiana, Texas State
SWAC: Texas Southern
WAC: New Mexico State