5/8 Softball Bracketology Breakdown

Last Four In: Boston College, Oregon State, Texas, San Jose State
First Four Out: South Florida, San Diego State, SIUE, Cal Poly
Florida State came into their showdown series with Oregon in Eugene with the perfect type of momentum. The Seminoles won in walk-off fashion against Florida 3-1 in 11 innings on Wednesday night. However, that win probably took a little too much out of Florida State as they were swept by the Ducks in three games and could not get anything going offensively. For Oregon, this a huge momentum boost as this sweep should lock up a top eight national seed and now head coach Mike White can use the time between now and the NCAA Tournament to get his team ready for the road to Oklahoma City. UCLA continued its surge towards locking down a top eight seed as they took it to Arizona in the first two games before falling short on Sunday. Arizona clinched the Pac-12 Championship on Sunday to avoid getting swept by the Bruins as Danielle O’Toole picked up her 27th win of the season and Jessie Harper went 2 for 3 with a grand slam homerun to highlight a five RBI afternoon. Tennessee heads into the SEC Tournament with some more momentum as they took two out of three from Texas A&M down in College Station. The Vols got off to a fast start on Sunday as they jumped out to a 5-2 lead after two innings and held on to beat the Aggies by a score of 8-6. Overall, the Southeastern Conference Tournament in Knoxville next weekend has the potential to have its share of upsets.
ACC: Boston College, Florida State, Louisville, North Carolina, Notre Dame
American:  Tulsa
Big East: St. John’s
Big 12: Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas
Big Ten: Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, Wisconsin
Pac-12: Arizona*, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, UCLA, Utah, Washington
SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M
A-10: Fordham
America East: Binghamton
A-Sun: USC Upstate
Big Sky: Weber State
Big South: Liberty
Big West: Cal State Fullerton*
CAA: James Madison
C-USA: Marshall, Florida International, Florida Atlantic
Horizon: Illinois-Chicago
Ivy: Princeton*
MAAC: Iona
MAC: Ohio
MEAC: Norfolk State
MVC: Northern Iowa
MWC: San Jose State
NEC: St. Francis
OVC: Jacksonville State
Patriot: Lehigh
Southern: UNC Greensboro
Southland: McNeese State
Summit: IUPUI
Sun Belt: Louisiana, Texas State
SWAC: Texas Southern
WAC: New Mexico State