5/2 Softball Bracketology Breakdown

Last Four In: Illinois, Long Beach State, Kansas, North Carolina
First Four Out: Mississippi State, Penn State, Boston College, Virginia Tech
Tennessee responded in a big way this weekend at home in Knoxville after getting humbled by Oklahoma last Saturday 9-0. The Vols came out against high-flying Auburn with a vengeance and have taken the first two games of the series by a combined score of 22-3. This series win should be enough to secure the right to host a regional and sets Tennessee with a shot to make a final push for a top eight national seed. Elon stepped up in game one of its doubleheader against James Madison and pulled off an epic 5-4 win in 15 innings over the Dukes. Kayla Caruso went the distance in the circle for the Phoenix and she always found a way to come up with the big out against James Madison. The win for Elon was also their second ever over a top ten opponent and snapped the 42 game conference winning streak in CAA play. Oregon, with its sweep of Arizona, has gotten into a tremendous position to be a top four national seed when the NCAA Softball Tournament Selection Committee announces the field in a couple of weeks. If Cheridan Hawkins continues to elevate her performance in the circle like she has within the past couple of weeks, the Ducks will be very difficult to deal with in the postseason.
ACC: Florida State, Louisville, Notre Dame, North Carolina
American: UCF, Tulsa, South Florida
Big East: St. John’s
Big 12: Baylor, Oklahoma, Texas, Kansas
Big Ten: Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Illinois
Pac-12: Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon, UCLA, Utah, Washington, Oregon State, California
SEC: Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Missouri, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M
A-10: Dayton
America East: Binghamton
A-Sun: USC Upstate
Big Sky: Weber State
Big South: Longwood
Big West: Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State
CAA: James Madison
C-USA: Florida Atlantic
Horizon: Wright State
Ivy: Harvard
MAAC: Marist
MAC: Kent State
MEAC: Delaware State
MVC: Wichita State
MWC: Fresno State*
NEC: LIU Brooklyn
OVC: Jacksonville State
Patriot: Lehigh
Southern: Samford
Southland: McNeese State
Summit: North Dakota State
Sun Belt: Louisiana, South Alabama, Texas State
SWAC: Texas Southern
WAC: New Mexico State