4/6 Baseball Bracketology Breakdown

Connecticut College Baseball

Last Eight In: Alabama, Georgia, Iowa, Missouri, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Ohio State, UNC-Wilmington

First Eight Out: Auburn, Alabama, Cal State Fullerton, Connecticut, Liberty, Memphis, Mississippi, NC State

College baseball has been dominated by the power conferences in the south and west (ACC, Big 12, Pac-12, SEC), but it’s the schools from the other big conferences that are making noise this year. The SEC is deep at the top, but really struggling at the bottom. The ACC looks a bit down and both the Big 12 and Pac-12 have a big gap between their top notch teams and the rest of the teams in the conference. This has given schools from the American Athletic, Big Ten, Big West and Missouri Valley a chance to shine. We looked at the Big Ten last week and there are still five teams that are safely in and now the AAC is creeping up on the same mark. Houston and UCF should be regional locks, while South Florida, Memphis and Connecticut are all in the mix. South Florida is in this week’s projections and Memphis and Connecticut are in the first eight out. USF is sitting in first place in the conference at the moment, Memphis just took two of three from Houston and Connecticut has an RPI in the top 40. The Big West struggled as a whole to start the year, but UC Irvine and Long Beach State have snapped out of their struggles and both return to the field alongside UC Santa Barbara. And in the MVC, Missouri State is in the field after taking two of three from Dallas Baptist. These teams will be in the mix for a regional bid as the season moves on and if a couple of teams in the power conferences can string together some wins, the race for the final slots in the tournament could get very tight.


See the Projected Baseball NCAA Tournament Bracket


ACC: Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami, North Carolina, Virginia

American: Houston, South Florida UCF

Big East: St. John’s

Big 12: Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech

Big Ten: Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Nebraska, Ohio State

Pac-12: Arizona State, Arizona, California, Oregon State, UCLA, USC

SEC: Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt

A-10: St. Louis

America East: Stony Brook

A-Sun: North Florida

Big South: Coastal Carolina

Big West: Long Beach State, UC Irvine, UC Santa Barbara

CAA: Charleston, UNC-Wilmington

C-USA: Rice, Florida Atlantic

Horizon: Wright State

Ivy: Columbia

MAAC: Canisius

MAC: Ball State

MEAC: Bethune-Cookman

MVC: Dallas Baptist, Missouri State

MWC: Nevada, San Diego State

NEC: Bryant

OVC: Southeast Missouri

Patriot: Navy

Southern: Wofford

Southland: Southeastern Louisiana

Summit: Oral Roberts

Sun Belt: Louisiana

SWAC: Alabama State

WAC: Sacramento State

WCC: San Diego


See the Projected Baseball NCAA Tournament Bracket